05 March 2022

The Hellacopters unveil new single

0 Comment

The Hellacopters’ are proud to share their brand new single ‘So Sorry I Could Die’. The song is the 3rd single taken from the Swedish high-energy rock and roll band’s 8th studio album, Eyes Of Oblivion, which will be released on 1st April 2022. Produced by Nicke Andersson and Chips Kisbye (who has overseen every Hellacopters album since High Visibility in the year 2000), the record will be the band’s first full-length since their temporary farewell record Head Off in 2008.

‘So Sorry I Could Die’ – a stripped down yet intense blues ballad, that also pays tribute to southern soul in its vocal delivery – is probably the most unusual song on the forthcoming album. And perhaps in their whole catalogue so far.

The melancholic video for the song was directed by Amir Chamdin and edited by Emil Klinta, who were also responsible for their two previous music videos, ‘Reap A Hurricane’ and ‘Eyes of Oblivion’, and had been working on several projects with The Hellacopters previously, such as 2021 documentary ‘I’m In The Band’.

Watch the video for ‘So Sorry I Could Die’ below:

‘Eyes Of Oblivion’ – tracklisting
01. Reap A Hurricane
02. Can It Wait
03. So Sorry i Could Die
04. Eyes Of Oblivion
05. A Plow And A Doctor
06. Positively Not Knowing
07. Tin Foil Soldier
08. Beguiled
09. The Pressure’s On
10. Try Me Tonight

Nicke Andersson comments:
“The album has 10 songs and although it’s obviously not easy to be objective at all, I think musically it sums up everything we’ve touched upon from the start in 1994 up until now. Some of the songs date back as far as 10 years or more, and some were written more recently. It’s rock and roll played with high energy, so for lack of a better term I say High Energy Rock And Roll. You could say it sounds like The Beatles meets Judas Priest or Lynyrd Skynyrd meets the Ramones but the best way to describe this album is that it sounds like The Hellacopters today.”

The Hellacopters were formed in 1994 by Nicke Andersson (vocals and guitar), Dregen (guitar), Kenny Håkansson (bass) and Robert Eriksson (drums). At that time Andersson was renowned in the metal scene for his work in well-known Swedish death metal band Entombed and Dregen had built a reputation as co-founder and guitarist of his main band Backyard Babies.

Next to The Hives and The Backyard Babies, The Hellacopters are considered one of the most important and influential Swedish rock bands of the 1990s and 2000s – they achieved two Gold certifications, won a Swedish Grammy and a Kerrang! award, have amassed 100 million streams to date and have supported and toured with the likes of The Rolling Stones, Kiss, Black Sabbath, ZZ Top and The Foo Fighters. They have released seven albums, ranging fuzzed-out and supercharged garage punk on Supershitty To The Max! (1996) and Payin’ The Dues (1997) to perfectly crafted and soulful high-energy rock’n’roll with a strong vintage vibe on the following albums, Grande Rock (1999), High Visibility (2000), By The Grace Of God (2002) and Rock & Roll Is Dead (2005). A compilation of cover songs called Head Off was released in 2008 and marked the band’s last album before ultimately dissolving. In addition The Hellacopters have released almost four dozen singles, splits and EPs until this day, most of which got the limited 7-inch or 10-inch vinyl treatment, making them a vinyl collector’s dream… or worst nightmare.

The Hellacopters reunited in 2016 to play a few shows for the 20th anniversary of their debut album, and have proven an unstoppable force ever since, performing at Sweden Rock Festival, Psycho Las Vegas, Download, Hellfest, Roskilde, Ilosaarirock, among others. In October 2021 they announced that they had signed a deal with Nuclear Blast Records and a new album would be in the works for Spring 2022.