25 August 2014

Bloodshot Dawn Announce New Album Details

0 Comment

Bloodshot dawnBefore closing their main stage show at Bloodstock Festival, unsigned UK melodic extreme metallers Bloodshot Dawn made a very special announcement. Frontman Josh McMorran told an excited crowd that their new album, entitled ‘Demons’ would be released in the UK on 26th October (Rest of World TBA).

‘Demons’ is the second Bloodshot Dawn album and was funded by fans in a Kickstarter campaign which was achieved in just 4 days, testament to the band’s loyal following.

‘Demons’ is also the first recording with their new drummer Janne Jaloma (also of Gothenburg death metal outfit Deals Death). The album features 8 tracks of awe inspiring melodic extreme metal spanning 43 minutes and includes guest musicians such as Sven De Caluwé (Aborted, System Divide), Per Nilsson (Scar Symmetry), Teemu Mäntysaari (Wintersun), Andy James (ex-Sacred Mother Tongue) and Chris Amott (Armageddon, ex-Arch Enemy).

Speaking of ‘Demons’ in relation to their self-titled debut, which was released in 2012, Josh comments: “From a musical perspective it has been a completely natural progression. We have not become more melodic or more brutal but rather we’ve enhanced all aspects of the sound we had built up on the first album! This album is a huge step up in technical ability and song writing prowess without changing the music enough to alienate our current fans!”

“The title ‘Demons’, which is also the name of one of the tracks, perfectly represents the lyrical content within the album. It also ties in with the amazing new artwork. The song’s lyrical content is about demons on both a personal and a wider social scale, explaining our views on modern society and the struggles within the mind. The album is all about beating your demons and making something of the time you have on the earth whilst battling the ever lasting struggles and trials that come with being human.”

bloodshot dawn cover

The artwork, which can be seen above, was masterminded by Swedish artist Par Olofoson who is famed for his work with bands such as Immolation, Onslaught, Exodus, Pathology, The Faceless and more as well as also having also worked on the Bloodshot Dawn self-titled debut album.
Track Listing for ‘Demons’
1) Smoke and Mirrors
2) Consequence Complex
3) Unified
4) Inadequacy
5) Black Hole Infinity
6) Human Void
7) The Image Faded
8) Demons
Drums were recorded in Studio Disaster, Sweden by the band themselves; guitars and bass were recorded in Darkside Studio, England by guitarist Benjamin Ellis; vocals were recorded at Envy Studio, England by Richard Worrall and Jack Stephens. The album was mixed and mastered by Danish sound wizard Jacob Hansen (Aborted, Amaranthe, Volbeat, Destruction, Epica, Pestilence).
Watch Bloodshot Dawn live at Bloodstock Open Air
‘Godless’ –

Bloodshot Dawn_Godless_Live at Bloodstock 2014 by BloodstockFestival
‘Quantum Apocalypse’ w/ Special Guest Doug Anderson –

Bloodshot Dawn_Quantum Apocalypse_Live at… by BloodstockFestival
‘Vision’ –

Bloodshot Dawn_Vision_Live at Bloodstock 2014 by BloodstockFestival

bloodshot dawn poster 1

bloodshot dawn poster 2

Catch Bloodshot Dawn Live
26th October – Limerick, Ireland – Dolan’s Warehouse
27th October – Belfast, Northern Ireland – Voodoo
28th October – Glasgow, Scotland – Audio
29th October – Manchester, England – Sound Control
30th October – Bristol, England – The Exchange
31st October – Brighton, England – Green Door Store
01st November – London, England – Unicorn
02nd November – Cardiff, Wales – Full Moon
06th November – Osaka, Japan – Namba Rockets w/ Gorguts & Krisiun
07th November – Nagoya, Japan – Imaike 4 Star w/ Gorguts & Krisiun
08th November – Tokyo, Japan – Cyclone w/ Gorguts & Krisiun
09th November – Tokyo, Japan – Cyclone w/ Gorguts & Krisiun
31st January 2015 – Dublin, Ireland – The Academy w/ At The Gates